Catastrophic Car Accident

I’ve just seen a car accident. 

Not first hand, but rather than the disaster of afterwards. 

A pearlescent Fiat 500, once perfect and striking, now just devastating. With skid marks cascading across the road, a wreck, crumpled like a paper bag you may find rolling out of an overflowing bin in the city. The airbags were blown. The dashboard shattered with the windscreen, with shards of blue and white glistening around the debris. The roof lining was falling. As we crept by in our car, it became apparent just how awful it was, with the whole back end charred from a fire eruption from the petrol tank. 

My heart stopped momentarily. 

I think this was the first time a car crash really sank in for me. I’ve seen the ruins before; been in the hours long traffic cues inconveniencing schedules and patience. This was the first time there was no one at the scene. The car was eerily empty, yet full of carnage. There was not an ambulance in sight, already having sped away, just a policeman waiting behind the striking blue accident tape. 

I pray their okay and I’m not religious. 

It’s so poignant that that was a human life, driving as we are today on my way home for 3 nights leave from the hospital. 

I’ll listen out for the news tonight. 

A human life is so precious. All life is so precious. 

We can’t allow ourselves to be destroyed by our own human nature and mental illnesses. We must strive to enjoy all the time that we have. This may seem cheesy, but it was so shaking to see such a mess. And I’m certainly not saying just get over it or that other people have it worse; frankly, as awful as it is I wish that I could have had a physical illness rather than something as life destroying as Anorexia Nervosa, depression and anxiety. I’m just giving you permission: a friendly and completely heartfelt wish for you to be okay darling, whoever is reading. 

My heart is going out to you. 

Leave a comment